still, i dream

//

come and go as a dream

my beautiful youth, that I never learned how to feel. 

//

old song, different november

i feel my youth leave my frail frame

oxymoronic i reckon 

for i never felt it within me 

till it began to slip away

same eyes, a pond of memories

muddy and riddled with fog

happiness dotted as fireflies on top

yet, an unseasoned angler

i gaze at the string, down deep 

finding reasons to seek another dream 

i heard a piano sing me to sleep 

i felt the hand of a painter caress my cheek

just like that, i’m a child again

in a room, blue and in bloom

wondering whether the story i wrote 

was ever my own

i catch myself

charting constellations of your name

unknowingly 

across the dark winter sky

i see your face and your voice

when i drink my tea and sigh

it’s a ritual of you in my mind

one that i am against

yet i’m dragged into it

by the same string that tied me to that ghostly pond of haze

i want to go, but my heart pulls out a sword

i’m scared of battles i’ve never won

my greatest folly when it comes to you

is my strategy

of lying in wait

wait for what

heavens, that i too not know of

for i’ve known all too well

the significance of my ephemeral feet

standing on these ancient ground where all of us lay

i say i wish you happiness

and i truly do

but when it’s late and my mind is frayed

i look up and yell

i wish it was me 

in a reality

where you chose to stay

where i could hold onto my promises 

of sleepovers and playing games 

all the songs are still about you

come and go as a dream

i put you on me

and try to see

perhaps

even if it’s a distant vision of my sleep

in this world

you see me

the way i bared my eyes

to you, my greatest tragedy

my eternal muse of what could’ve been. 

ever so childish is the growth in my heart

for i beg for another chance to be seen

beyond the veils of moonlight we don’t remember 

as a brilliant sun, a blooming flower

a vibrant blue that you’d proudly paint a canvas with 

no bars and no wars

in a decade of peace 

just you and me

nothing and everything in between 

this is treacherous 

this is wretched

my mind is not mine

and i walk away from the morals i stand 

the moment my quill hits the parchment 

with you and only you, guiding my hand 

disinhibited like a june summer 

i curse and yell at everybody who had the privilege of holding you, knowing you

telling them to go fuck themselves

knowing fully well i have no hold on you

i don’t think i can ever hate you

i’d love you even if you pulled the trigger 

i’d love even if you cause my eternal slumber 

say if i ever did open my mouth

would you curse at me

or gaze, incredibly disturbed 

or look away, ignorant of my turmoil 

not even remembering me

i don’t want to know 

i think i know 

what i am to you and you are to me

you’re somebody’s favorite song. 

you’re his midnight call. 

you’re her bejewelled montage. 

you’re my worldly redstring altar call. 

you’re the reason why somebody smiles

you’re your mother’s secret surprise. 

you’re your father’s esteemed prize. 

you’re the one who makes her sigh. 

you make jupiter draw to venus overnight.

you make the artist within this knight come alive.

reverent with duty, i tread towards my path

childish with want for things i can’t afford, i hit my covers and dream

of a lifetime with you

perhaps it is in these words, worlds 

i’ll be alive with you

my eternal solace are these broken palaces of misty worlds of words.

oh isn’t that awful.

oh, that is awful. 

still, i dream

of a future

where i take care of you and you see me

a world, just for us

and our accomplished dreams

still, i dream

a universe that bends to the story

a one that took her dear time

in writing the epilogue 

of you and me. 

Leave a comment